Tag Archives: about me

Me, circa 2011 (being moved to a blog rather than a page)

Oh, isn’t that a loaded question. I imagine for the time being, however, if you are reading this site, then you probably know who I am, and what I’ve done. But in the spirit of optimism, here’s a brief recap.

It has taken me 23 years to realize it fully, but I am a product of my parents more than anyone else (even my friends, who I love dearly). Both are incredibly successful, intelligent individuals, my mom graduated from Cambridge University (GB) and my dad graduated from University College of Dublin (IRE). My dad runs his own veterinary practice and my mom works along side of him. Combine, they have been apart of seven Olympic teams. Quite a legacy to live up to.

I’m currently in my second year of teaching at West Philadelphia High School in Philadelphia, PA. Prior to arriving at WPHS, it was considered to be one of the most dangerous schools in the state. In my first year, it had made enough improvements to be removed from the Persistently Dangerous List; Philadelphia is the only school district in the state of Pennsylvania to have persistently dangerous schools. That being said, my first year was a great experience. It was certainly challenging, but thats part of what makes something great. The second year has been substantially more challenging than the first year, due to multiple changes in administration and a general lack of stability in both the school and school district. While working at WPHS, I have also been pursuing my Masters in Special Education at Chestnut Hill College, which is in the suburbs of Philly.

I started teaching because I was accepted into Teach For America the same week I prepared to graduate from College of the Holy Cross. There, I was an Economics major, and had an amazing time getting my education, while also being a member of the Rowing team. I was a three year member of the first varsity boat, and was elected captain my senior year. In my time on the team, I raced in: Worcester, MA, Boston, MA, Princeton, NJ, Washington, DC, New York, NY, Philadelphia, PA, Camden, NJ, and Sacramento, CA. I’m now continuing my education of rowing at Penn AC, one of the premiere training centers in the country for heavyweight men.

I’m still living in Philadelphia, in the Art Museum District, and am walking distance from Boathouse Row, which has become a sanctuary for me as I’ve needed a place to work out my stress from the day to day events of my life. I know that the stresses I face – juggling work, grad school, training, and a semblance of a personal life – are no where close to the stresses that my students face – not having money to get home, not having anyone at home, needing to eat, violence, child care/caring for family members, working, and school – so I can’t complain too much. In the end, I am fortunate to have had these kids be apart of my life, and I can only hope that several years down the road, at least one of them says the same about me.

The next part of my life is still a little bit up in the air. I am considering pursuing an MBA, but still want to have a clearer idea of what I would use it for. I’m exploring an opportunity of starting a new business with my dad, and we’ll see where that takes us.

Thats enough for now. This is significantly longer than I expected it to be, and as I stated earlier, I imagine that most of you, at least in the first few weeks, will know me personally and will know my life story. Deuces.